South Africa extends National State of Disaster to 15 July

President Cyril Ramaphosa

The National State of Disaster which President Cyril Ramaphosa declared in mid-March for three months has been extended to 15 July. This decision was taken by a special Cabinet meeting held in Pretoria earlier today to discuss developments pertaining to the national lockdown.

Minister in the Presidency Jackson Mthembu says government will continue to extend the current status quo should circumstances require it to be done

Cabinet has resolved that after the expiry of this initial three months of the National State of Disaster on the 15th of June, we will extend it by another month until July. If there is a need for us to extend again in July, based on scientific evidence, we will do it as cabinet because the law allows us to have month to month extensions.